Adelaide Chamber Singers with Sharon Grigoryan
Adelaide Town Hall
128 King William St
06 Aug, 2021 - 06 Aug, 2021
07:00 pm - 08:00 pm

Adelaide Chamber Singers with Sharon Grigoryan

19 Nov 2020

Love, loss and longing. The voice is unmatched by any other instrument in its ability to convey the full palette of the human experience. Composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Claudio Monteverdi, and John Tavener each understood this unique ability of the voice to tell stories through their music. With the rich acoustics of the Adelaide Town Hall as their backdrop, the Adelaide Chamber Singers, with cellist Sharon Grigoryan and organist Joshua van Konkelenberg, will unite on stage to tell the stories of the Baroque masters.

Opening with Monteverdi’s masterpiece Sestina: Lagrime d'Amante al Sepolcro dell'Amatta, often regarded as one of the composer’s greatest works. It’s a heart-melting lament for his fellow artist: the 18 year old soprano Caterina Martinelli, the star of his opera Arianna, and a former student of the Italian composer.

Cellist Sharon Grigoryan makes her first appearance as a soloist since leaving the Australian String Quartet. She’ll perform JS Bach’s Sonata for Viola da Gamba No. 2 in D major, BWV 1028, music that’s as vibrant, fresh, and as full of life as it was when it was penned in 1740. Cello and voices unite to perform contemporary master John Tavener’s enigmatic and evocative Svyati. Envisaged as a goodbye to a friend’s late father, the piece pays homage to the funeral traditions of the Russian Orthodox church.

Bach’s memorial motet, ‘Jesu, meine Freude’ completes the program with the Adelaide Chamber Singers once again in full flight. Joyous, uplifting, and comforting, one of Bach’s most adored hymns features as its centrepiece, celebrating the redemptive power of love. A sentiment that resonates with the Musica Viva family as we return to live performance in Adelaide


Adelaide Chamber Singers
Carl Crossin director
Joshua van Konkelenberg​ organ
Sharon Grigoryan cello


MONTEVERDI Sestina: Lagrime d'Amante al Sepolcro dell'Amatta
JS BACH Sonata for Viola da Gamba in D major, BWV 1028
JS BACH Jesu, meine Freude, BWV227


65 minutes
Please note that there will not be an interval